Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Bank Account Balances and Register (Transactions)
11-30-2017, 06:28 AM (This post was last modified: 12-14-2017 12:38 AM by VortecCPI.)
Post: #1
Bank Account Balances and Register (Transactions)
Locale USA

Main Menu > General Ledger > Bank Accounts

I was inspired by the new Dashboard so I copied the code for Bank Account Balances to the Bank Accounts Maintenance page. I KNOW our financial owner will ask for this so I wanted to get ahead of him.

   

QuickBooks has a nice little Bank Account Balance summary that appears in the corner and I find it very useful.

   

Perhaps this would be a nice addition to the code base?

https://www.linkedin.com/in/eclipsepaulbecker
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-01-2017, 09:45 AM
Post: #2
RE: Bank Account Balances at Bank Accounts Maintenance
Yes good idea - if you could email me your sourceforge login I will set up access for you to commit

Phil Daintree
webERP Admin
Logic Works Ltd
http://www.logicworks.co.nz
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-02-2017, 02:51 AM
Post: #3
RE: Bank Account Balances at Bank Accounts Maintenance
Would it be more logical to have this as a stand alone inquiry rather than part of the bank accounts maintenance screen?

Tim
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-02-2017, 06:10 AM
Post: #4
RE: Bank Account Balances at Bank Accounts Maintenance
Yes but I was in a hurry!

https://www.linkedin.com/in/eclipsepaulbecker
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-03-2017, 12:10 AM
Post: #5
RE: Bank Account Balances at Bank Accounts Maintenance
Hi Paul, I have knocked together a quick script to do this inquiry which is attached. I have added columns for the account currency balance as well as the functional currency (they are the same for you) and I only show balances for accounts that user has permissions on.

If this is any use then you need to add a record in the scripts table for this, and also in the Main menu script. Please feel free to commit or share as you want,

Tim


Attached File(s)
.php  BankAccountBalances.php (Size: 2.03 KB / Downloads: 3)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-03-2017, 12:16 AM (This post was last modified: 12-03-2017 02:28 AM by VortecCPI.)
Post: #6
RE: Bank Account Balances at Bank Accounts Maintenance
Tim -- Thank you so much -- Working on it right now...
Tim,

This looks great. I hate to even mention it but you asked so here is my only comment... There is a bit of inconsistency between the way data is shown on the Dashboard and the way it is shown in your new page. The Dashboard version uses selection class for table and odd/even row coloring and it might be good if we unify the presentation for consistency. As far as data goes I think your rendition is easier on the eyes and easier to read.

       

From what I see in webERP summary data is usually in a simple table (like yours) and detail supporting data is in a table more like that shown on the Dashboard.

It makes little difference bit I have a bit of mild OCD and like consistency.

I added a link just below "Bank Accounts" on the main menu and added an entry in security with Reconciliation.

       

An entry in the language file will also be required.

Thank you again!

https://www.linkedin.com/in/eclipsepaulbecker
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2017, 06:33 AM (This post was last modified: 12-13-2017 06:35 AM by VortecCPI.)
Post: #7
RE: Bank Account Balances at Bank Accounts Maintenance
Another thought on this topic...

It sure would be nice to have a button or hyperlink for each Bank Account line that would take us directly to the bank account balance ledger/register (i.e., GLAccountInquiry.php).

How do the rest of you bring this up when you want to view Bank Account activity?

https://www.linkedin.com/in/eclipsepaulbecker
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2017, 06:44 AM
Post: #8
RE: Bank Account Balances at Bank Accounts Maintenance
The "Bank Transactions Inquiry" (DailyBankTransactions.php) is better for this as it displays transactions in the account currency as well as the base currency.

Tim
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2017, 07:59 AM (This post was last modified: 12-13-2017 08:01 AM by VortecCPI.)
Post: #9
RE: Bank Account Balances at Bank Accounts Maintenance
(12-13-2017 06:44 AM)falkoner Wrote:  The "Bank Transactions Inquiry" (DailyBankTransactions.php) is better for this as it displays transactions in the account currency as well as the base currency.

Tim

Thank you -- I just noticed that right this moment.

Still would be nice to have a link that would get us there and show entries for, say, the current month or perhaps the current quarter.

https://www.linkedin.com/in/eclipsepaulbecker
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2017, 08:43 AM
Post: #10
RE: Bank Account Balances at Bank Accounts Maintenance
I have done the links and sent the scripts to you by email. As usual anybody else wanting them just let me know by email as I don't want to clog the forum up with attachments.

Tim
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)